Queen Charlotte Track

Pier of Ship Coves / Queen Charlotte Track
Pier of Ship Coves / Queen Charlotte Track

So, now I will report you about the famous Queen Charlotte Track. And I want to tell it to you in english, because during the whole track I was talking english to myself. Always when I do a walk alone, I talk a lot, just for fun, to have some company, so we had a big conversation, me, myself and I…. And now I wonder how or if my english improved after 3 month NZ. And I write it without Leo.

First I had to hitch hike from the Holiday-Park to the town of Picton (only 3min ride) to take the Ferry. There are no taxis or buses, so after 3 cars ignoring me, I had the clever idea to wait next to the school which was just 50 meters further, and then I hiked just in front of a standing car dropping of his daughter…., then he couldn’t say no… It was almost 9am, and he went to Picton working. I had in mind that the Ferry departure time was 9.15, and I was there at exactly 9.00. So I thought, I have time to take money from the ATM (Bankomat), and then hop on the boat. But it was leaving at 9.00! So luckygirlalready2times! The trip to the Ship Cove was about one hour. There is a monument remembering Thomas Cook on his journeys. So after wondering around a little I started my track at about 10.30. Originally I knew, the track to Furneaux Lodge would take 5 hours, but anyhow, talking to the ferrymen I understood it would only take 2.5 hours. The misunderstanding had consequences on my whole track… The ferry should pick me up at 3pm at the FL. So I thought, cool, I have got plenty of time! That’s why I didn’t hurry at all and started walking in a gentle speed. After approximately 1 hour I met Simon and John from Australia at a viewpoint, had a relaxing chat; “how are you doing, where are you from, for how long, wow!, where are you going, what’s your name, nice to meet you, see you later…..”

Walking through the forest with those giant ferns and other flora, the quiet, only hearing the wind in the trees, the fresh, humid smell of the earth, and the perfect temperature to walk, gave me a surrounding of peace and balance. It was like meditation, ooooooohmmmmmmm…….

Because John was taking professional pictures with his camera, I bumped into the duo at the Resolution Bay again, and had a relaxing cup of coffee and another chat with them. Meanwhile it was 12.30, and when we were talking I heard, that I still had to walk for 3 hours to get to FL!! (we didn’t talk about that the first time we met, unfortunately). 13.30, 14.30, 15.30.--?.--!!!! Ok, byebye, have good time! Enjoy jour trip!....And off I went! I can make it by 15.00, if I put on some speed.

At 12.45 I stepped over a branch laying over the path and didn’t think enough to make the right interpretation. Just next to the branch was a heavy wooden door, and I thought it would be private property. So I walked and walked and walked. After maybe 10 minutes I thought, this feels strange, the path wasn’t nice, I didn’t meet people anymore and I went anyhow back and down. This felt wrong, but I continued walking. I gazed at footprints and other signs like moved stones on the path as a sign of human beings passing here. I had to go through 3 or 4 wooden gates and thought again, this feels soooo wrong! After 20 minutes I decided to go back. I thought, when it was still ok, I should meet Simon and John and the way back. At 13.20 I was at the wooden branch again and looked for a sign of the right track. And behind that “private” gate was on a little pole the little, yellow arrow!! Why were you hiding before??? Ok, Saskia, breathe, don’t worry, enjoy, relax, keep cool. I lost 30 minutes! With a normal speed I would be at FL at 13.45, 14.45, 15.45. 15.45!!!!! So now I was really doing heavy Nordic Walking, without sticks. Began to sweat and worry, I still had to walk 3 hours! But after 20 minutes almost running and discussing with me, myself and I, I decided to lay back and just let happen what will happen. The ferry will maybe wait for me, and I will not be there and they will leave. This is my day off, and I don’t want to be stressed because of timetables, I am on holidays! There will be another ferry, and anyway, there is always a solution. So my red head got rose again, and I started to take pictures again, had an apple on a bench and enjoyed the stunning views of the fjords.

On the way I met John again, he wondered, I explained, we laughed, and byebye, good luck.

After I took a picture of a fern, I put my cap on again because of the light, cooling drizzle. While I was walking, I was looking down on the path and suddenly there was a BANG! Autsch! I banged my forehead on a branch which was crossing the path at the height of a men’s head, and I didn’t see it! I had my mouth open (because I was talking again) and bit on my tongue! I tasted blood, but just a little. You wonder what’s next? Nothing for the moment.

It started raining a little, but that was nice cool, and I didn’t feel much, because I was sheltered in the woods. I really, really liked this walk, and arrived at 15.45 at Furneaux Lodge. The Lodge was very nice with a Pub and a nice garden. I talked to the young lady behind the bar, told her the story. Yes they were looking for a lady in Jeans… but then they had to leave…. Yes sure, I understand…. But there is another ferry in about half an hour. She walkytalkied with the ferrymen and he could take me. Thank you soooo much! Perfect, half an hour gives me the time to have a glass of Chardonnay! She said, she would advise me 10 minutes before arrival of the ferry. So she did. Ok, thanks. I was in my thoughts and making notes in my agenda (lots of ideas for the future at home….), when she came to me again, and said, they are waiting for you!

No coment.

I rushed to the shore and there was the ferry waiting, already packed with guests. Thank you sooooo much for taking me! He was very gentle. There was coffee and tea on board. After a while I had also a coffee, although it wasn’t “my” ferry. Suddenly I saw very far away two or three fins above the water, maybe dolphins? I wanted to advise the ferrymen, but another tourist had seen them as well and told him. He said, that are Killer Whales! Orkas!!! He turned his ferry at a sudden in direction of the Orkas. Everybody was very excited. And it turned out to be a mother with 3 calves! It is just unexplainable when you see those giants swimming next to you. I always thought, that wouldn’t mean much to me, if I would see them…. But I was so touched by seeing these creatures, and happy! I almost cried, really, it was so nice. What, if I tell the boys what I saw!!!

Ok, after this nothing more happened. We drove to Picton. I called Pat and they came and picked me up.

What a day!

sas

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0